Annual Meeting 2015

Date: 15th Jun 2015 Author: Scout Websites

Our annual meeting took place on 11June at Cheshire View – many thanks to everyone who supported the meeting and who were involved in making the meeting run smoothly.

Amongst our guests were Dave Hopley, Deputy County Commissioner, and Carl Hankinson, County Commissioner for West Lancashire and Chair of the Operations Committee at Headquarters. Our special thanks to them for their inspiring contributions.

Dave was able to announce that, against an overall very slight drop in membership in Cheshire, Chester District’s has grown by 5% – good news for us! Carl’s speech was thought provoking and reinforced the key messages of Vision 2018. Everyone came away enthused about the future.

The annual review and accounts were approved – a good account of our activities and confirmation that our finances are stable. Both documents will be available on the District web site at

The new District Executive Committee was confirmed:

District Chair: Neil Thornton

District Commissioner: Joanne Turner (ex officio role)

District Secretary: Lotte Moores

District Treasurer: Mark Moores

District Explorer Scout Commissioner (ex officio role)

Elected members:

David Bull, Ron Jackson, Gary Warburton and Dave M Evans

Members nominated by the District Commissioner:

Chris Huxley-Clowes, Mike Jones, David Mullock and Josh Diamond


Jon Ducker

Welcome and best wishes to the new Committee, whose first meeting is on 18 June.

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls